Reflecting on the Value of Blogging

blogging

Click on this link for other opinions of the value of blogging

What Have I Learned About Blogging?

Throughout the duration of one semester, I have been exposed to a variety of blogs and fellow bloggers. I have learned how to create one as well as how much of an impact they can have on learning and the spread of knowledge. I have mingled with a network of life-long learners and individuals eager to share their ideas and love of information. I specifically learned so much about how useful technology can truly be in a classroom and how beneficial a multimodal approach to content can be for students with multiple intelligences. I know that I will continue to blog and contribute to the transfer of knowledge to individuals of all facets of life.

Did I Enjoy Blogging?

Yes! I loved having the opportunity to create something I knew my fellow colleagues and other educators and life-long learners would read and give feedback to. I took pride in creating each and every post and put all my energy and care into this blog, knowing that I created something others would read and benefit from. I felt apart of and connected to a community. I never knew how much fun it could be!

What Role Did Blogging Play In My Life As A Professional?

Blogging opened my eyes to the world of technology and how I could use it in my future classroom as a future English teacher. Knowing how much I enjoyed it, I realized it could be used as an enjoyable alternative to a traditional five paragraph essay. The fact that it incorporates text, videos, images, and even sound helped illustrate that blogging is a multimodal means of engaging students. This blog can also enhanced my life as a professional because it has added to my professional digital footprint and has contributed to my professional E-foilo. I am proud to share it will my colleagues and other professionals.

4845854_f496

Click here to learn about technology in the classroom.

What Role Could Blogging Play In An ELA Classroom?

Blogging could serve as a way to collaborate with other students across the world to share their ideas about a concept. It could help students to present information in a condensed manner and allow them to read and comment on what other classmates wrote. Blogging fosters a multitude of skills such as:

  • Collaboration skills
  • Presentation skills
  • Communication skills
  • Media literacy skills
  • Technology skills
  • Typing skills
  • Writing skills
  • Networking skills
  • Publishing skills
  • Reflecting skills

Students can build their digital footprint in a positive way and at the same time, they can learn to be globally aware. The benefits of blogging are tremendous for students!

How Do I blog?

Here are some helpful resources to get you or your classroom started:

http://www.wikihow.com/Start-a-Blog

http://www.bloggingbasics101.com/how-do-i-start-a-blog/

http://wordpress.org/

blogging2

Click here to read about why you should continue to blog.

 

Leave a Reply

From Books To Macbooks

A Technophobes Journey Into The 21st Century

Express Yourself

"love the life you live, live the life you love"

Live. Laugh. Write.

Blog by Cassie White

Words Can Be Like X-Rays

they'll go through anything.

coryjgomez

Liberty Through Literacy

WriteToMakeItRIght

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Ryan Dalpiaz

It's not about where you are, it's about where you are going...

In Other Words...

Paula_Rubino

ELAted Education

Literacy, Attitude, and Technology

Keep Clam and Proofread

"I cannot teach anybody anything, I can only make them think." -Socrates

Grey Matter

All that matters is Grey; as literacy turns misery to hope.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

